BangladeshPost placeholder

Our Correspondent
Parliamentary Standing Committee on Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs Ministry has recommended introducing ‘Land Acquisition Act’ in the hill tracts as like as in plain land.
The decision was taken at a meeting of the committee at CHT Development Board conference room in Rangamati on Thursday.
The meeting also adopted several decisions including dredging of Kaptai Lake and setting up of a new Paper Mill in Rangamati.
In a press briefing following the meeting, chairman of the standing committee, RAM Ubaidul Moktadir Chowdhury, confirmed the decisions to the local newsmen.
He also informed that the existing Karnaphuli Paper Mill (KPM) at Kaptai upazila in Rangamati will be kept operative as usual.
In reply to a query over the execution progress of CHT peace accord, Moktadir claimed that his government achieved about seventy percent success about the execution of the deal.
He said, “It’s a continuous process. After finalisation of recommended provisions made by Parnbatya Chattagram Jana Sanghati Samity, the implementation progress has almost reached to final stage.
In reply to another query over quota retention for ethnic communities, he said that the premier herself gave assurance that she will look into the matter for the betterment of the ethnic people.
State minister for ministry of CHT affairs, Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing MP, said he will raise the issue of Land Acquisition Act in the coming parliamentary session as if get quicker pass in the coming session of parliament. In reply to a question about their satisfaction on ongoing execution progress of peace agreement, Ushatan Talukder said it was not at satisfactory level as most of the vital clauses remained unexecuted. He, however, expressed his optimism for complete implementation of the accord by the current Awami League-led government.
In the meeting, other members of the standing committee, Sheikh Helal Uddin, Mohammed Subid Ali Bhuiyan, M Abdul Latif, Amanur Rahman Khan Rana and M A Awal, chairmen of three hill districts councils, additional secretary, and joint secretary of different ministries were also present.