Education Desk
On July 11, 2018, Young Economists’ Forum (YEF)—North South University’s premier co-curricular club—organized Budget Talk 2018, a significantly noteworthy panel discussion on the strategies and particularities of the recently passed Fiscal Budget for the fiscal year 2018-2019. With the new and dynamic problems this developing nation faces, Budget Talk 2018 was host to several influential figures, including top policy makers, leading intellectuals and robust business magnates.
The panel was host to luminaries as the chief guest, Md Mosharraf Hossain Bhuiyan, Senior Secretary, Internal Resources Division (IRD) & Chairman, National Board of Revenue (NBR). Also in attendance were the distinguished discussants, Mohiuddin Khan, Additional Secretary (Development), Secondary & Higher Education, Education Ministry, Government of Bangladesh; Dr Nazneen Ahmed, Senior Research Fellow, Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies and Mominul Islam, Managing Director & CEO, IPDC Finance LTD. M A Hashem, Chairman, Board of Trustees, NSU and Professor Atiqul Islam, Vice Chancellor, NSU graced the event as the special guest and the Chair of the Session respectively.
The event began with a key note speech by Dr Salma Begum, who provided an all-encompassing overview of the fiscal budget, acquainting speakers and audience alike to the concepts at hand.
The stage was then open for each speaker to contribute their perspectives on the impact that the budget has on the various sectors of our economy, from education and finance to business and the corporate sector. The panelists explored topics as diverse as the financial sector’s liquidity crisis to the existing wealth inequality within the country.
Following the address by the panelists, a question and answer session ensued. Market based solutions and potential government sanctioned policies to fix pertinent issues and create suitable financial environments were topics which came to light during this session.
The event concluded with tokens of appreciation being presented to all the distinguished panelists and the chief guest, followed by a closing address by the special guest.