BangladeshPost placeholder

BP Report
Bangladesh Nationalist Party has regained four of the six constituencies that fell void of the party runners with Morshed Miltan and Abu Ashfaque, Faridul Kabir Talukdar and Abidur Rahman Khan being ruled legal to run for the elections.
Morshed Miltan is running from Bogura-7 while Abu Ashfaque, Md Faridul Kabir Talukdar and Md from are from Dhaka-1, Jamalpur-4 and Manikganj-2 constituencies respectively.
The Election Commission ruled their candidacy legal after hearing appeal on Thursday.
After getting back the four constituencies, the BNP is now left with no candidates in Rangpur-5 and Shariatpur-1 constituencies.
Their candidacies of these four aspirants were rejected during the scrutiny process of the commission. Their rejection spelled trouble for BNP as it put those seats without their franchise.
Bogura-7 is Gabtali Upazila and Shajahanpur Upazila, with a voter base of 461,471 registered voters – 232,174 male and 229,297 females.
It is one of the seats that the ruling Awami League has left vacant for its allies, allowing Muhammad Altaf Ali of Jatiya Party to contest.
Among others running in the elections from this constituency are Mantejar Rahman from NAP, Shahidul Islam from BSD, and Abdur Razzaque from JSD.
Dhaka-1 constitutes of Dohar Upazila and Nawabganj Upazila, which is comprised of 440,407 voters – 216,805 male and 223,602 females.
The constituency has one of the world’s richest man Salman Rahman as the candidate from Awami League and Jatiya Party lawmaker Salma Islam running as independent candidate.
Jamalpur-4 constituting of Sharishabari Upazila has a voter base of 252,652 – among which there are 125,648 male and 127,004 female voters.
The constituency has Md Murad Hassan contesting with the ticket of Awami League, Rabiul Islam Tarafdar from Gonoforum and Mamunur Rashid from Jatiya Party.
Manikganj-2 constitutes of Singair Upazila, Harirampur Upazila, and Hatipara, Bhararia, and Putail Unions of Manikganj Sadar with a voter base of 406,195.
The constituency has Momtaz Begum running from Awami League, Golam Sarwar Milon from Bikalpadhara and two independent candidates among others.