BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir bursts into tears remembering the party Chief Khaleda Zia as he begins handing out the party’s nominations at the party’s Gulshan office on Monday. Photo: BP

Staff Correspondent
BNP on Monday started distribution of its confirmation letters among the selected aspirants to contest the upcoming parliamentary polls.
BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir started the process by handing over the nomination letters of their Chairperson Khaleda Zia to Bogura BNP president Saiful Islam for Bogura-6 and to her adviser Helaluzzaman Lalu for Bogura-7 at BNP Chairperson’s Gulshan office around 3pm.
Mirza Fakhrul broke down into tears while handing over the nomination letters of Khaleda Zia and could not speak for a while at that time.
“May Allah help her get released from jail so that she could take part in the election and work for establishing people’s right,” said Fakhrul while briefing media after handing over the nomination letters of Khaleda Zia.

“BNP Chairperson Begum Khaleda Zia will vie for the Bogura-6 and Bogura-7 constituencies in the upcoming 11th parliamentary polls,” said Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir.
Earlier, Mirza Fakhrul informally handed over nomination letter to the party Joint Secretary General Majibur Rahman Sarwar for Barishal-5 constituency.
Briefing the newsmen, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir alleged that the general election will be controversial because of the biasness of the incumbent chief election commissioner.
“The Election Commission has not been able to ensure a peaceful environment for the polls yet,” said he adding that he is still doubtful over the election.
He said, “We were handing over nomination to two persons for each constituency. If first one accidently cannot attend the polls in a particular constituency, the second one will replace him. However, we issued single nomination letter for the constituencies where the party’s senior leaders will contest.”

The party sources said it has kept some 60 seats for Jatiya Oikyafront and other alliance partners.
Earlier, the issuance of nomination letters among the Barishal division aspirants started at 4 pm while that among Rangpur division aspirants at 6 pm and that among Rajshahi division candidates started at 8pm, party sources said.

The nominees who have so far got nomination letters are– Khaleda Zia (Bogura-6, 7), Majibur Rahman Sarwar (Barishal-5), Zahir Uddin Swapan (Barisal-1), Moazzem Hossain Alal (Barisal-2), Selina Rahman and Joynal Abedin (Barisal -3), Mejbah Uddin Farhad (Barisal-4), Abul Hossain Khan (Barisal-6). Altaf Hossain Chowdhury (Patuakhali-1), Shahidul Alam Talukder (Patuakhali-2), Hasan Mamun (Patuakhali-3), ABM Mosharraf Hossain (Patuakhali-4), Andalib Rahman Perth (Bhola-1), Hafiz Ibrahim (Bhola-2) ), Hafiz Uddin Ahmed (Bhola-3), Nazimuddin Alam (Bhola-4), Shahjahan Omar Bir Uttam (Jhalokati-1), Israt Sultana Elin Bhutto (Jhalokati-2), Khandakar Mahbub Hossain (Barguna-2).
Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir (Thakurgaon-1), Mokarram Hossain Sujon (Rangpur-1), Waheduzzaman Mamun and Mohammad Ali (Rangpur-2), Mozaffar Ahmad and Rita Rahman (Rangpur-3), Emdadul Haque Vorsa (Rangpur-4), Solaiman Alam and Dr. Momtaz (Rangpur-5), Saiful Islam (Rangpur-6), Manzurul Islam and Mamunur Rashid (Dinajpur-1), Sadek Riaz and Mamunur Rashid (Dinajpur-2), Hafiz and Akhteruzzaman Mia (Dinajpur -4), Rezanul Haque and Bachchu (Dinajpur-5), Lutfur Rahman and Shahin (Dinajpur-6 ).
Rana and Shamim (Kurigram-1), Sohel and Abu Bakar (Kurigram-2), Tazbir and Abdul Khalek (Kurigram-3), Makles and Aziz (Kurigram-4), Khandaker Ziaul Islam and Mojaharul Islam (Gaibandha-1), Tutul and Ahad Ahmed (Gaibandha-2), D. Sadek (Gaibandha-3), Obaidul Haque and Faruk Alam (Gaibandha-4), Hasan and Faruq Kabir (Gaibandha-5), Simul Bishawas (Pabna-5), LDP Secretary General Reduan Ahmed (Comilla-7), and Murshed Khan (Chottagram-8) constituency.