Renowned theatre activist Bakar Bakul has received ‘Tanusree Padak 2018’ in recognition of his outstanding contribution in the field of theatre.
The award is conferred annually by popular theatre troupe Natyadhara to a young theatre activist in recognition of his/her outstanding performance in theatre in memory of young theatre activist Tanushree Gayen who died a premature death in 1999.
This year’s award was given at a programme at Studio Theatre Hall of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA) in Segun Bagicha area of the capital on Friday. The programme was arranged marking the 26th founding anniversary of the troupe Natyadhara.
Noted theatre personality Ramendu Majumdar was the chief guest and handed over the award to Bakar Bakul. Presidium member of Bangladesh Group Theatre Federation Lucky Inam, secretary general Kamal Bayzid and Anjan’s CEO Shaheen Ahmed were also present as special guests. President of Natyadhara Masud Parvez Miju preside over the award ceremony.
Bakar Bakul has been working as a theatre activist for over 18 years. He began his theatre career in ‘Faridpur Theatre’. He was a founding-member of Dhaka-based theatre troupe Swapnadal. Currently, he is working with Prachyanat, another renowned theatre group of Bangladesh. He was also honored with ‘SM Solaiman Pronodona’ this year.
Previously, ‘Tanusree Padak’ were conferred on Saidur Rahman, Nasirul Haque, Ashish Khandakar, Tropa Majumdar, Aminur Rahman, Kamaluddin Kabir, Dilip Chakrabarty, Jaglul Ahmed, Rahul Anand, Samina Luthfa, Shubhashish Sinha, Debasish Ghosh, Sudip Chakrabarty, Ruma Modok, Animesh Saha, Tapan Hafiz and Saila Sharmin.

Staff Correspondent