Pacer Mohammad Amir is in line for his Test comeback after being named in Pakistan’s 16-man squad for the three-match series in South Africa, starting December 26, reports Cricbuzz.
Fakhar Zaman, who missed the New Zealand series in UAE due to a knee injury, and Shan Masood have also been included to make up for the absence of Mohammed Hafeez, who is retiring after the Abu Dhabi game. Meanwhile, offspinner Bilal Asif misses out.
The three-match series begins in Centurion with the Boxing Day Test. The subsequent games will be played in Cape Town (January 3-7) and Johannesburg (January 11-15).