City Desk
Five students of the Mass Comm­unication and Journalism department of Dhaka University on Sunday received ‘Editor Abdus Salam Trust Fund’ scholarship for their excellent academic results.
The recipients of the scholarships are Dipok Chandra Roy, Monir Uddin, Md Raihan Kabir, Md Chunnu Khan and Md Mahabubur Rahaman.
Besides, Bangladesh’s first female photojournalist Sayeda Khanam received ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ for her contribution to the journalism sector.
The scholarship giving ceremony was held at the Muzaffar Ahmed Chowdhury auditorium of Social Science building on the campus.
DU Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman handed over the award and scholarships among the recipients.
DU Treasurer Prof Dr Md Kamal Uddin presided over the function while Chairman of the Mass Communication and Journalism department Prof Dr Kaberi Gayen spoke it, among others.