(From left to right) Jhenidah-1 candidates Abdul Hyee, Abdul Wahab, Advocate Asaduzzaman and Jayanta Kumar Kundu; Jhenidah-2 candidates: Tahjib Alam Siddiquee, Mashiur Rahman and Abdul Mazid; Jhenidah-4 candidates: Anwarulm Azim Anar, Saiful Islam Feroz and M Shahiduzzaman Beltu; and Jhenidah-3 candidates: Safiqul Azam Khan Chanchal, Mehedi Hasan Roni and Matiar Raman. Photo: BP

Delwar Kabir, Jhenidah
A total of 35 candidates including ruling Awami League and opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) have submitted nomination papers to the district returning and assistant returning officers at the six upazilas of Jhenidah on Wednesday.
Of them, seven submitted nomination from Jhenidah-1 (Sailkupa), nine from Jhenidah-2 (Jhenidah and Harinakundu), eight from Jhenidah-3 (Moheshpur-Kotcnadpur) and eleven from Jhenidah-4 (Kaliganj constituency.
However, two strong candidates from the opposition BNP could not submit the same due to a court verdict as they were awarded imprisonment in cases. They are ex BNP lawmaker and district unit president Mashiur Rahman and Sailkupa thana unit president, ex lawmaker Abdul Wahab who was elected member of the parliament for three terms each.
In Jhenidah-1, ruling party lawmaker and Jhenidah district unit president Abdul Hyee, ex BNP lawmaker Abdul Wahab, Advocate Asaduzzaman and Joyanta Kumar Kundu from BNP, ex lawmaker Dabir Uddin from Jatiya Samajatantrik Dal (JSD), Raihan Uddin of Islami Andolon and individual candidate Abu Bakar submitted nominations.
Incumbent ruling party lawmaker Tahjib Alam Siddiquee (Somi), Mashiur Rahman, ex BNP lawmaker and advisor to the BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia, his son Ibrahim Rahman Babu, BNP Jhenidah district unit organizing secretary MA Mazid and Advocate SM Mashiur Rahman submitted their nominations from BNP. Advocate Ashadul Islam of left democratic alliance, Hafizur Rahman of Ganoforum, Fakhrul Islam of Bangladesh Islami Andolon and independent candidate Yusuf Parvez submitted their nomination from the Jhenidah- 2 seat.
In Jhenidah-3 seat, ex lawmaker Advocate Safiqul Azam Khan Chanchal, Jamaat leader Matiar Rahman, ex BNP lawmaker Shahidul Islam’s son Mehedi Hasan Roni, BNP central committee cultural affairs assistant secretary singer Manir Khan and Akteruzzaman Shimul submitted nomination from the BNP, Jatiya Party (JP) candidate Barister Qamruzzaman, BNF candidate Engineer Ismail Hossain and Islami Andolon candidate Sarwar Hossain submitted nomination. Subarna Rani Saha, assistant returning officer of Jhenidah-4 seat comprising Kaliganj and part of Jhenidah Sadar upazila received nominations from eleven candidates.
The candidates are Kaliganj upazila AL general secretary and incumbent lawmaker Anwarul Azim Anar senior joint secretary Jatiyatabadi Sechchhasebak Dal Saiful Islam Feroz, central leader of the workers party Mostafa Alamgir Ratan, Phani Bhushan Roy of left democratic alliance, HI Montazur Rahman of Islami Andolon, Wadudur Rahman of BNF, Khondokar Mehedi Hasan of LDP, Ishahq Ali Biswas of Jaker Party and independent candidate Jahurul Islam.
Further, ex AL lawmaker Abdul Mannan submitted nomination as a rebel candidate to the assisant returning officer, while ex BNP lawmaker Shahiduzzaman Beltu submitted his nomination to the district returning officer Saroj Kumar Nath.