BangladeshPost placeholder

BP Report
As many as 278 candidates of ruling Awami League, 555 of the BNP, and 195 of the Jatiya Party are still in the race for 300 parliamentary seats after the returning officers on Sunday rejected a total of 687 nominations for different reasons, according to Election Commission data.
Among the nominations rejected by the returning officers three are from the AL and 141 from the BNP.
The Jatiya Party saw 38 of its candidates dropped in the scrutiny on Sunday while the number of independent aspirants whose applications have been rejected is 384 out of 498.
Meanwhile, returning officers cleared 69 of the 77 aspirants of the Communist Party of Bangladesh or CPB, 43 of the 49 candidates of the Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal or BaSaD, and 27 candidates of the 30 of the Biplobi Workers Party.
Earlier, a total of 696 BNP runners submitted nomination papers in 295 constituencies and 281 AL aspirants in 264 constituencies within the deadline that expired on November 28.
The EC received a total of 3,065 properly filled out nomination papers and finally accepted 2,279 nominations. Of the constituencies, the ruling party did not field any candidate in 36 while BNP in five.
After the scrutiny, the Awami League has no candidate for 39 constituencies while there is no BNP candidate for 10 seats.
There is no Awami League candidate in 39 constituencies while BNP has no valid candidate in 10 parliamentary seats out of total 300 across the country after the scrutiny of nomination papers by the returning officers.
The 39 constituencies which have no AL candidate are: Thakurgaon-3, Nilphamari-3 and 4, Lalmonirhat-3, Rangpur-1 and 3, Kurigram-2 and 4, Gaibandha-1, Bogura-2, 3, 4, 6 and 7, Rajshahi-2, Kushtia-2, Satkhira-1, Barishal-3 and 6, Pirojpur-2 and 3, Mymensingh-4 and 8, Kishoreganj-3, Munshiganj-1, Dhaka-4, 6 and 8, Narayanganj-3 and 5, Sunamganj-4, Sylhet-2, Moulvibazar-2, Brahmanbaria-2, Feni-1 and 3, Lakshmipur-2, Chattogram-2 and 5.
The 10 constituencies having no BNP contestant are: Tangail-8, Moulvibazar-2, Cumilla-7, Laxmipur-4, Chattogram-14, Sunamganj-3, Manikganj-2, Jamalpur-4, Pabna-1 and Bogura-7.
The deadline for filing appeals against the decisions of rejecting the nominations ends today (December 5).
The EC will dispose of the appeals within Dec 8 and the deadline for nomination withdrawal is Dec 9, after which the returning officers will allocate symbols and the candidates can start the campaign for the Dec 30 election.