New Delhi Correspondent
Twenty one countries, including Bangladesh, in the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) have called for promotion of technology development and transfer, strengthening of public-private partnerships in renewable energy and collaboration among IORA member-countries.
A joint Declaration on Renewable Energy in the Indian Ocean Region adopted after their second two-day meeting that ended in Greater Noida, about 50km from Delhi, on Thursday night, also called for collaboration among IORA member-states in meeting the growing demand for renewable energy in the Indian Ocean littorals, development of a common renewable energy agenda for the Indian Ocean region and promote regional capacity building.
The IORA member-countries also resolved to collaborate with the International Solar Alliance and the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA).
As per the Declaration, the IORA member-nations will collaborate with the ISA member-nations to exchange knowledge and share views and potential interests in the renewable energy sector paved by the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed between IORA and ISA on October 3 with a focus on joint capacity-building programmes, research and development activities in solar energy and exchange of best practices.
Secondly, the IORA member-countries and IRENA will undertake the expansion of the Global Renewable Energy Atlas, the world’s largest-ever joint renewable resource data project, thereby creating the Indian Ocean region’s first and most comprehensive map and database which can be used to tap the sizable renewable energy potential of the region and to collaborate on opportunities available under the International Renewable Energy Learning Platform (IRELP).
Bangladesh’s Minister of State for Foreign Shahriar Alam, Indian Minister of State Power and New and Renewable Energy R.K. Singh, Secretary General, Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Nomvuyo N Nokwe and South African Deputy Minister of Energy Thembisile Majola, participated in the IORA ministerial meeting. Ministerial representatives from Iran, Mauritius, Seychelles, Sri Lanka and Yemen also spoke at the meeting.
The IORA was set up with the objective of strengthening regional cooperation and sustainable development within the Indian Ocean Region with 21 member-countries and seven dialogue partners.
India, Bangladesh, Australia, Iran, Indonesia Thailand, Malaysia, South Africa, Mozambique, Kenya, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Singapore, Mauritius, Madagascar, UAE, Yemen, Seychelles, Somalia, Comoros and Oman are members of IORA.