BangladeshPost placeholder

Masumuzzaman, Narayanganj
In the history of the Narayanganj, record number of female aspirants has collected nomination forms from their respective parties intending to vie for the upcoming 11th national polls scheduled for December 30.
Among the more than 100 nomination seekers of different political parties for five constituencies in the district, there are 10 women also who are not only confident of getting the party nod but winning the coming election also.
The previous parliamentary election in these constituencies did not have as much female candidates as found in the race for 11th national polls. In the ninth parliamentary elections only one female candidate contested from the district (Narayanganj-4). At that time, Awami League (AL)-backed Sharah Begum Kobori won the seat beating BNP’s Shah Alam.
At present, all of the 10 female aspirants are carrying out full-fledged election campaign putting all of their efforts. They are also hoping to get party nomination, and confident of winning the polls.
It has been already proved that voters of the district do not differentiate basing on gender, the female aspirants argued.
Among the 10 aspirants, two collected nomination papers from Nagorik Oikya and Jatiyo Party while the rest collected from AL.
District AL organising secretary advocate Mahmuda Akter Mala, AL central committee leader Dr Selina Akter, existing law maker from women’s reserved seats advocate Hosne Ara Bubly, Sonargaon upazila Mahila AL president advocate Nurjahan Begum, district Mahila AL leader Professor Shirin Begum, district AL general secretary’s wife Nahida Begum collected AL nomination forms.
Fatema Islam collected party nomination from Nagorik Oikya and Parvin Osman, wife of former law maker Nasim Osman, collected form from JP.
All the female nomination seekers are confident of their candidacy. They seem sufficiently fit for election as half of the voters are female. Besides, they hope that if they get party mandate their organising capacity is powerful to win in the election race at any circumstances.